Advocacy Center


The Muskegon Lakeshore Chamber of Commerce is proud to offer its membership advocacy staff dedicated to working with local, state and federal elected officials to influence pro-business policies that impact your bottom line. Having a voice and influence in the government is essential to successful business in Muskegon and is the top priority of the advocacy staff. Every Chamber member is encouraged to stay up to date on current legislation and Chamber support on varying issues.


The Chamber Government Affairs Committee recognizes the individuals and government entities who demonstrate a commitment to excellence and process improvement in ease of use, customer service, effective communication, building partnerships and commitment to economic development. Nominations for GEE! Awards are accepted year-round.

CLICK HERE to nominate a local government!



Norton Shores_wins_2014_GEE_Award_Small

Jon Gale, City of Norton Shores Police Chief. Jon has been instrumental in facilitating a safer community by offering City Hall as a place for online transactions such as Craiglist sales to be conducted. This supports both the business and residential community and in a short time is already a popular service being greatly utilized.

From the City of Whitehall: City Manager Scott Huebler, Chief of Police Roger Squier and Director of Public Works Brian Armstrong. The City of Whitehall has been supportive of the business community when asked for assistance with a variety of activities including federal grants and local tax abatements, helping with neighbor relationships and even assisting in identification of employee emergency situations.

Bob Lukens, Community Development Director for the Muskegon County Convention and Visitors Bureau. Bob and his staff have continued to support tourism businesses with high-quality customer service requests including the recent cruise ship arrival in Muskegon and preparing to receive hundreds of passengers with 11 hours’ notice.


  • 2014: Mike Huston and Mark Meyers, City of Norton Shores
  • 2013: Bryon Mazade and the Muskegon City Commision, Muskegon Area First – Procurement Technical Assistance Center Region 3
  • 2012: Muskegon County and MSU Product Center, Egelston Township, City of Norton Shores
  • 2011: Gary Nelund, Brian Werchem, Chris Witham, Steve Warmington, Rod Buikema, Emery Hatch, Henry Roesler
  • 2010: Cathy Bruebaker -Clark, Dennis Stepke, Mike Franzak, Marcia Jeske

BUSINESS FRIENDLY VOTING GUIDE5-star-candidate-rating-logo

The ratings are based on the candidate’s views and intent to act upon the issues that impact businesses in Muskegon County.

CLICK HERE to download a pocket friendly voters guide

CLICK HERE to find your polling place or to view a sample ballot


As a member of the Chamber, Advocacy Center resources are included in the cost of your membership investment. Here are some of the resources you can begin taking advantage of immediately:

  • Action eAlerts – Email updates on the hottest community and legislative issues alerting members to take action
  • Face time with Elected Officials – Invites to exclusive meetings with policy makers
  • Research and Issue Support – Assistance with issue research, scheduling stakeholder meetings, legislation and ordinance evaluation etc.
  • Member Issue Forums – Access to informational presentations about relevant policy issues
  • Facebook and Twitter – Regular updates and information regarding advocacy efforts, initiatives, resources, forums and feedback
  • Taskforce Participation – Gauges interest on specific issues and invites participation in discussion about the topic
  • Muskegon Business Political Action Committee – Donations supporting pro-business state candidates and issue education campaigns
  • Priority Setting – Gauges member business interests on specific issues that set the Chamber’s legislative agendaIf you are interested in learning more about the Advocacy Center or would like to sign up for any of the resources above, contact the Chamber today at 231-722-3751 or email